100th Anniversary Mackay Council No.2310, St. Mary’s Church

100th Anniversary Mackay Council No.2310, St. Mary’s Church
(Photo courtesy of Angelo Grande)

On Sunday, October 3, 2021, the John W. Mackay Council No 2310, Knights of Columbus, celebrated its 100th Anniversary as a Council at a Mass at the Church of St. Mary, Roslyn. The Mass was celebrated by the Pastor, Rev.Timothy Valentine.

The council was formed in 1921 and named after, John W. Mackay, who was the father of Clarence Hungerford Mackay, who was a prominent businessman from Roslyn. The Mackay family donated the pipe organ to the Church of St. Mary. The Council persevered through good times and bad times. The Grand Knight of the Council in 1921 was James Radigan and the Pastor was the Rev. Louis R. Martel. There was concern that the new Council wouldn’t succeed because if was affiliated with a small parish, but it did succeed an reached its 100th Anniversary. The current Grand Knight is Sean Quinn and the current Pastor is the Rev. Timothy Valentine.

In attendance at 100th Anniversary Mass were Anthony Ippolito, State Secretary, New York State Council, Knights of Columbus and Eugene Peluso, District Deputy, Nassau Board of District Deputies. A Citation was presented from the State and one from the National Council.

It still continues its charitable activities 100 years later. The council has contributed to local, state and national endeavors. Locally they have contributed to the Church of St. Mary, the Roslyn Little League, Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts, Veterans’ Organizations, Volunteer Firemen and Roslyn Visiting Nurses. The Council also sponsored a Family of the Month Award Program. This award was presented to families, who made outstanding contributions to the Church of St. Mary and/ to the community. They have also run blood drives and assisted with many fundraising Dinner Dances and other functions.

The current Officers of the John W. Mackay Council No. 2310 for 2021-2022 are:

Grand Knight, Sean Quinn, Deputy Grand Knight, Matt Doherty, Chancellor, John Little, Warden, Tim Kelly, Financial Secretary, Phil Kirk, Recorder, Tim Timmerman, Treasurer,

Angelo Grande, Lecturer, Gerry Polizzi, Three-Year Trustee, Ed Escoffier, Two-Year Trustee,

Pat Smith, One-Year Trustee, Jim Stalarow.

The council still continues with its charitable endeavors and to recruit new members.

No posts to display