Great Neck student delegates recognized by Board of Education

Great Neck student delegates
Board of Education student delegates with Board of Education members (President Barbara Berkowitz, Vice President Donald Ashkenase, and Trustees Donna Peirez, Rebecca Sassouni, and Jeffrey Shi), Superintendent Dr. Teresa Prendergast, and Assistant Superintendent-Secondary Dr. Stephen Lando. (Photo by Irwin Mendlinger)

Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education student delegates, representing the district’s secondary schools, were introduced to the community at the board meeting on Oct. 23.

These non-voting delegates, selected by their schools, are encouraged to express opinions about educational and student matters, to voice school issues or concerns, and to take pertinent board agenda items back to their respective schools.

Board President Barbara Berkowitz explained that, after the board speaks, delegates may speak on matters of importance before members of the audience are invited to speak. Ms. Berkowitz also thanked the students for their service and for volunteering their time to represent their schools at Board of Education meetings.

Kelly Chau, Alan Chau, Lance Hakimian, and Joseph Harooni are the delegates for North High School.

South High School’s delegates include Perry Choo, Daniel Moon, Katelyn Pramberger, and Lauren Wong.

Village School’s delegate is Maxwell Silverstein.

North Middle School student delegates include Mia Carrillo, Joshua Picker, and Sahar Tartak.

South Middle School’s student delegates are Grace Fong, Dana Kagan, and Malina Khan.

The Board first initiated student delegates in 1975, a practice New York State did not require until 2005.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here