Herricks outstanding elementary physical education students honored

Denton Avenue student Daisy Van Groningen

Traditionally, two students from each elementary school would be recognized by the Nassau Zone Athletics, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance Association for their outstanding performance in physical education class. This year, the Herricks Public Schools is continuing the tradition despite the closure.

The award winners for the 2020 school year are Center Street students: Abigail Dang and John Nell; Denton Avenue students: Nicholas Collura and Daisy Van Groningen; and Searingtown students Sofia Begawala and Matthew Dunphy.

The recipients have exhibited a healthy lifestyle, responsible behavior, and leadership, they value physical activity and wellness and have overall excellence in physical education.

 Submitted by the Herricks Public Schools

Center street student John Neil
Denton Avenue student Daisy Van Groningen
Searingtown student Matthew Dunphy
Center street student Abigail Dang
Denton Avenue student Nicholas Collura
Searingtown student Sofia Begawala
(Photos Courtesy of Herricks Public Schools)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here