Flynn returns to service with Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association

Manhasset-Lakeville Water District Commissioner Steve Flynn was one of several re-elected North Shore water commissioners to serve with the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association. (Photo courtesy of the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association)

Long Island water commissioners who have been newly elected or re-elected by Long Island voters are being welcomed for the first time or returning to the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association (NSWCA).

Comprised of elected water commissioners from 21 Nassau County and Suffolk County water districts, the NSWCA is dedicated to providing its commissioners with ongoing education that promote different updates and approaches to communication, fiscal efficiency and best practices for the production, conservation and sustainability of our region’s water resources on behalf of the consumers they are elected to support.

District residents vote for one of three commissioner positions each year. Each newly elected or re-elected commissioner are serving a three-year term beginning January 1, 2020 that will run through December 31, 2022.

NSWCA President and Oyster Bay Water District Commissioner Michael F. Rich III commented on the election results. “Once again, voters had the opportunity to cast their ballots for the men or women of their choice in meaningful local elections,” he said. “Since commissioners are elected, not appointed, and must reside in their respective districts, this is an excellent example of local control by each community at work. I am extremely pleased to welcome both our new and returning colleagues to NSWCA.”

The NSWCA congratulates the following water district commissioners on their three-year term re-elections:

  • Albertson Water District Commissioner Kenneth Vey, Re-elect
  • Garden City Park Water District Commissioner Ken Borchers, Re-elect
  • Manhasset-Lakeville Water District Commissioner Steven Flynn, Re-elect
  • Port Washington Water District Commissioner Mindy Germain, Re-elect
  • Roslyn Water District Commissioner Dr. Sanford Klein, Re-elect


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here