North Shore guidance center board president receives May W. Newburger Award

North Shore guidance center board president receives May W. Newburger Award
Nancy Lane, President of the Guidance Center’s Board of Directors, was named to the 25th annual May W. Newburger Women's Roll of Honor. (Photo courtesy of North Shore Child and Family Guidance Center)

In celebration of Women’s History Month, the Town of North Hempstead named North Shore Guidance Child & Family Guidance Center’s Board President Nancy Lane to its 25th annual May W. Newburger Women’s Roll of Honor.

“Nancy Lane has been an invaluable asset to North Shore Child & Family Guidance Center for more than 30 years,” says Andrew Malekoff, Executive Director. “She first became involved in one of our parent initiatives in 1985, and was drawn to the Guidance Center’s mission of providing mental health care and substance abuse treatment for all in need in Nassau County, regardless of their ability to pay. In 1986, Nancy joined the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors, and from 1988 through 1992 served as the President of the Board of Directors.

“Today, she once again is our Board President. Her devotion to our mission and deep knowledge of what we do and of the community we serve make her a dynamic, effective and passionate leader.”

Lane her husband Dr. Lew Lane have lived in Port Washington, Manhasset and Sands Point for 37 years. They have two children: Manhasset residents Alexandra Lane and her husband Randy Cohn, who have a son, Josh; and Drew Lane and his wife Kristen Stokes, who live in Manhattan and have a daughter, Audrey.

Lane volunteered at her children’s school, Buckley Country Day School, for 13 years while her children attended the school. Before becoming a mother, Lane volunteered at the Port Washington Library.

Many of the Guidance Center’s previous board and committee members have received this honor over the years, including Susan Isaacs, Lilo Leeds, Joan Saltzman, Amy, Hagedorn, Sondra Pardes, Irene E. Hylton, Jane Schwartz, Heather Schwartz and current board vice president Jo-Ellen Hazan.

No posts to display