Port Library honors Aitken for outstanding service 

Robert Lee Aitkin, right, was honored for his service to the Port Washington Public Library. (Photo courtesy of the Friends of the Library)

The Friends of the Library (FOL) proudly announces that Robert Lee Aitken is the recipient of the Friends of the Library Award. Aitken, who goes by Lee, was an elected member of the Port Washington Public Library Board of Trustees for more than 20 years and served as its president for seven. He helped steer many crucial library initiatives. He is a ninth-generation Port Washingtonian and an attorney with a local law practice who is involved in many civic endeavors.

“Lee’s leadership was solid and sound; his judgments were wise; his admiration and respect for the Port Washington Public Library showed in all his actions. As a board member and board leader, he guided the library through major construction projects. He encouraged advances in technology, always with the view of promoting excellence,” said FOL President Amy Bass, herself a recipient of the award in 2014.

The Friends of the Library Award, established in 1991, honors individuals for their outstanding volunteer service to the library over many years. The recipients – of which there have been just 12 to date – are recognized with a permanent plaque bearing their names in the library lobby.

A ceremony was held at the library on December 19 to unveil the addition of Lee’s plaque. He is pictured with Amy Bass. At the event Lee was presented with proclamations in his honor on behalf of Judi Bosworth, Supervisor of the Town of North Hempstead; Delia DeRiggi-Whitton, Nassau County Legislator; and Tony D’Urso, New York State Assemblyman. For more information on the FOL and to see the full list of FOL Award winners visit pwpl.org/fol.

Submitted by the Friends of the Port Washington Public Library.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here