Sewanhaka AOF students graduate

Pictured are students who recently graduated from Sewanhaka Central High School District’s Academy of Finance Program. (Photo courtesy of the Sewanhaka Central High School District)

Sewanhaka Central High School District’s Academy of Finance program celebrated its 28th annual Graduation Dinner on June 13 at The Inn at New Hyde Park. The evening began with Christine Teetz, Academy of Finance program manager of New Hyde Park Memorial High School, introducing the guest speakers, advisory board members, administrators and faculty.

Academy of Finance alumni Jessica Santiago (Class of 2006), Christina Costas (Class of 2008) and James Walker (Class of 2011) attended and shared their own personal journey and advice for the graduates. Each speaker shared his or her own personal journey in the Academy of Finance program and the impact that the academy has had and continues to have on his or her life.

There were a number of awards, monetary scholarships and certificates presented throughout the evening. Valedictorian Cassandra Ward and salutatorian Hesham Khan were awarded citations from Nassau County Legislator Richard Nicolello. New Hyde Park Principal Richard Faccio presented the Principal’s Award to Ashley Aguilar for outstanding citizenship, leadership and service. Chairperson of the Academy of Finance Advisory Board John Paccione presented Aliana Moreno and Austin Varghese each with a scholarship award in honor of their many academic and extracurricular achievements. This year’s recipient of the Michael S. Krolick Program Manager’s Award was Khya Robinson. AOF finance teacher and New Hyde Park Memorial school store adviser Lyn Riley expressed her gratitude and presented Veronica Solis with this year’s The School Store Awards.

The Greater New Hyde Park Chamber of Commerce awarded two $500 scholarships to Cassandra Ward and Hesham Khan in recognition of their hard work in the Academy of Finance and hours of community service, and the State Farm-Peter Mathison Agency presented a $250 scholarship to Barbara Baker-Pena for her overall academic achievement and her plan to select business as a major in college. Angela Fulgieri and the Fulgieri family offered the Alfonso Fulgieri Accounting Achievement Award to graduating senior U’Niah Cromwell for her achievement in accountancy. Medical Receivables Billing Group Inc. presented two $100 book awards to Kathryn Abramo and Juliana Torres. Advisory board member Christopher Vulpis honored his deceased co-worker, Kenneth Abrahams, by presenting the Kenneth Abrahams Memorial Scholarship for $500 to Nicholas Bentivenga.

After the awards were presented, students received Certificates of Financial Studies from BOE president David Del Santo, Superintendent of Schools Ralph Ferrie, Faccio, District Coordinator of Business Education Christine Licastri and Ms. Stein-Silberlust, who is also business/technology chairperson. The evening concluded with a slideshow presentation prepared by senior Juliana Torres.

Teetz expressed her gratitude to all the members of the Advisory Board and their organization for their generous contributions, which made the evening possible.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here