The Art Guild’s ‘Artist Reception and Awards’ event sees over 200 attendees

Ann Parry took home first place in The Art Guild's portrait competition for her photograph, "Buzz Aldrin." (Photo courtesy of The Art Guild.)

On Sunday, September 8, 2019, The Art Guild hosted its “Artists Reception and Awards” for “ABOUT FACE: The Portrait, A Juried Competition and Exhibition.” More than 200 people attended, including artists, collectors, Legislator Delia DeRiggi-Whitton (D-Glen Cove), and state Assemblyman Tony D’Urso (D- Port Washington) who awarded the artists with Certificates of Merit for their participation.

“With so many diverse mediums represented, the juror-of-awards, Robert Silverman, had a difficult task judging the exhibit,” said Lisa Grossman, executive director of The Art Guild. “There are 64 amazing artists from Long Island to Colorado represented. We encourage everyone to come, visit, and choose your favorite!”

Ultimately, Ann Parry was awarded first place for her photograph, Buzz Aldrin, Larry Houser was awarded 2nd place for Sarah and Hali Layton was awarded 3rd place for her Self Portrait. Honorable mentions were given to Liz Ehrlichman for Richard, acrylic on canvas; Sabine Jean-Bart for My New Dress, oil; and Marc Reubins for Intense, oil.

With more than 200 entries, this was one of the The Art Guild’s most popular competitions. A wide range of styles and mediums were represented, from watercolor, oil and photography, to mixed media and sculpture. The 64 artists included in the show are Douglas Barnaby, Diane Bares, Lily Braff, Sal Butta, Henry Butz, Elizabeth Caputo, The Art Guild student Anthony DeNisco, Doris Diamond, Liz Ehrlichman, Deirdre Elzer-Lento, Judith Feinman, Ellie Foster, Stuart Friedman, Richard Froman, Manvi Golcha, William Grabowski Jr, Jan Guarino, Linda Gleit, Katherine Hagen, Heather Heckel, Susan Herbst, Stephen Hetzel, Jeff Holtzman, Shelley Holtzman, Larry Houser, Sabine Jean-Bart, Rene Joseph, Ellen Keller, Emily Klima, Rosemary Konatich, Annette Kasle, Joan Laufer, Hali Layton, Asia Lee, Linda Louis, Jane McGraw, Marion McManus, John Micheals, George Miller, Monica Marquez Gatica, Denise Ortell, Ann Parry Daniele Pollitz, Eli Rabe, The Art Guild student Olivia Rapuccuiolo, Marc Reubins, Alan Richards, Alice Riordan, Kimberly Roberts, Irene Sankari, Jane Scal, Roya Shamsdiba, Paula Sherman, Steve Silberstein, Barbara Silbert, Barbara Stein, Joan Stevens, Susan Kozodoy Silkowitz, Jane Tujak, Leo Tujak, Marcia Weisman, Dave Wollin, The Art Guild student Athena Yao and Ginny Zirpolo.

Submitted by The Art Guild.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here