Flynn defeats O’Brien in Water District race

Incumbent Steve Flynn (right) defeated former water and fire commissioner Donald O'Brien (left) for a seat on the Manhasset-Lakeville Water District's Board of Commissioners. (Photos courtesy of Donald O'Brien and Steve Flynn)

Incumbent Steve Flynn defeated former Commissioner Donald O’Brien for re-election to the Board of Commissioners of the Manhasset-Lakeville Fire and Water District on Tuesday night. 

Flynn, a foreman for the Public Works Department in the Village of Plandome, won with 543 votes, to O’Brien’s 392, and will serve a second three-year term. 

In Port Washington, voters have chosen Frank T. Scobbo as their new commissioner in the Port Washington Fire District, defeating three-term incumbent Dave Franklin. 

Scobbo, an engineer and longtime member of the Port Washington Fire Department, won by a margin of 26 votes, receiving 372 to Franklin’s 346. 

The commissioner-elect has said that he plans to propose upgrades for the district’s current headquarters, which brought him into conflict with Franklin, who supported the idea of an altogether new facility, over the course of the campaign.

Scobbo will serve for three years on the district’s Board of Commissioners, along with Angela Mullins, who was re-elected in 2018, and Thomas Rice, who was elected in 2017. 

In the Port Washington Water District, incumbent Commissioner Mindy Germain ran unopposed and won a third term on the board, and Port Washington Garbage District Commissioner William Scaglione, also running unopposed, won a second term on his board. Germain, also the executive director of advocacy group Residents Forward, will continue serving with water Commissioners Peter Meyer and David R. Brackett, while Scaglione will rejoin garbage Commissioners Mary P. Giordano and Paul Oleksiw for another three-year term.  

Elsewhere on the North Shore, Frank Cilluffo was re-elected to a third term as commissioner of the Great Neck Park District on Tuesday night.  Cilluffo defeated Erica Beggs by a margin of 318 votes, receiving 993 compared to Beggs’ 675.

After spending 20 years as a patrolman for the NYPD, Cilluffo moved to Great Neck and immediately became an involved member of the community. He was first elected to the position of commissioner in 2014 in a special election to fill the vacant seat that had been held by Ruth Tamarin. 

Cilluffo touted his experience working in the park district prior to the election, citing implementing events and programs such as holiday tree lightings enhanced commuter parking, pickleball for children, community gardens maintained by volunteer students and more.

Patty Katz was also re-elected as commissioner of the Great Neck Water Pollution Control District.  Katz ran unopposed for the seat she has held for the past three years and will continue to serve the district alongside fellow Commissioners Steve Reiter and Jerry Landsberg.

Southwest of Manhasset, Garden City Park Water and Fire District Commissioner Kenneth Borchers, was re-elected to another three-year term on Tuesday night.

Borchers, the 12-year incumbent, defeated his opponent and former Commissioner Alan Cooper with 143 votes compared to Cooper’s 126.

Cooper served as Garden City Park’s water commissioner in the late ’90s and early 2000s said that rising water rates and fire response times in the district drove him to run for his old post.

In response to Cooper’s thoughts on the lack of manpower and response time at the Denton Avenue firehouse, Borchers said, “The firehouse is not closed and a report of physical response times was done by the chief, in reference to reporting to headquarters which in hand have saved approximately one-and-a-half minutes in response time.”

Borchers will continue to serve with fellow commissioners Christian Engel and Peter Chimenti.

About the author

Rose Weldon

Share this Article