No contested races but new faces in Manhasset village elections

Lawrence Ceriello, who is running for a position on the Munsey Park Board of Trustees 26 years after an unsuccessful mayoral campaign.


Manhasset residents will not find any contested elections when they go to the village polls on Tuesday, but leadership changes in Munsey Park and Flower Hill will shake up the composition of their respective Boards of Trustees.

Sean Haggerty, the mayor of Munsey Park, will not run for re-election.

Trustee Frank Demento will run unopposed to replace him.

Trustee Patrick Hance will run for re-election while resident Lawrence Ceriello will run for the seat vacated as Demento is elevated to mayor.

Ceriello ran for village office once before 26 years ago, when the incumbent mayor, Arthur Schulteiss, defeated him in what Ceriello called “a spirited election.”

Ceriello said his renewed interest in joining village government stems from his concern over some quality of life issues, which he raised with village officials, he said.

“I think the roads need attention,” he said. “That’s not surprising given their age and use.  The village has done a good job repairing roads as needed but perhaps it’s time to take a more holistic view of the situation and consider various options for repairing the roads.”

“We also need to consider ways to reduce the property crimes that ticked up recently in Munsey Park,” he said.

Voting will take place from noon to 9 p.m. at Munsey Park Village Hall at 1777 Northern Blvd.

Following former Mayor Elaine Phillips’ state Senate victory in November, the Flower Hill government got a new mayor, a new deputy mayor and two new trustees.

In March, five seats in the village are up for re-election and all five trustees have filed to run.

Mayor Bob McNamara, who served as deputy mayor under Phillips and has been a trustee since 2012, has filed to run for a one-year term in a special election.

When Phillips asked McNamara to be a trustee five years ago, he said, he never imagined one day being mayor.

“I actually always felt sorry for the person who was going to replace her,” he said in December. “She did a superb job and was so involved in every aspect of the village.”

Trustee Frank Genese, who was appointed to the board in December to fill McNamara’s seat, has filed to run for a two-year term.

Genese, a resident of Flower Hill for 15 years, served as an architect consultant in Munsey Park for 11 years.

Kate Hirsch, who was appointed to the board in October to replace Trustee Karen Reichenbach, who died in May, has filed to run for a one-year term in a special election.

Newly appointed Deputy Mayor Brian Herrington, who has been on the board since 2014, filed to run for a two-year term, and Trustee Jay Beber, a board member since 2015, is running for a two-year term.

Elections will take place from noon to 9 p.m. at Flower Hill Village Hall at 1 Bonnie Heights Road in Manhasset.

In Plandome, Mayor M. Lloyd Williams will run for re-election unopposed. So will trustees Katie Saville and Donald Richardson as well as Village Justice James D. Kiley.

The voting will take place from noon to 9 p.m. at Plandome Village Hall at 65 South Dr.

In Plandome Heights, trustees Daniel Cataldo, Gus Panopoulos and Norman Taylor will run for re-election unopposed, as will Village Justice Cye E. Ross.

That voting will also take place from noon to 9 p.m. at Plandome Village Hall at 65 South Dr.

In Plandome Manor, Mayor Barbara Donno and trustees James Baydar and Matthew Clinton will run for re-election unopposed.

Voting will occur from noon to 9 p.m at the Plandome Manor village office at 55 Manhasset Ave.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here