NHP students earn National Merit kudos


Six students from New Hyde Park Memorial High School have been named commended students in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program. A letter of commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which conducts the program, were presented by NHP Memorial Principal Richard Faccio to these scholastically talented seniors.

Afrin Bhuiyan, Divia Joseph, Steven F. Lin, Julian J. Marquardt, Christopher D. Pak and Dana G. Wizel are among the 34,000 commended students being recognized throughout the nation. Although they will not continue in the 2014 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, commended students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2014 competition by taking the 2012 preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

“The young men and women being named commended students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” a spokesperson for NMSC said. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here