Elections mostly uncontested in Port villages

The Village of Baxter Estates is one of two villages in the Port area with unopposed races this March. (Photo courtesy of the Village of Baxter Estates)

With one exception, most villages in the Port Washington area will see uncontested races in March.

The Village of Baxter Estates will see two trustees, Douglas Baldwin and Alice Peckleis, run unopposed, along with village Justice Elizabeth S. Kase. Trustees Steven Cohen and Michael Malatino of the Village of Port Washington North will also be unopposed in their  elections. 

In Flower Hill, the mayor’s seat and three spots on the Board of Trustees are contested for the first time in several years.

Deputy Mayor Brian Herrington is running for mayor under the Flower Hill Party banner, with incumbent Trustees Randall Rosenbaum and Gary Lewandowski on his slate. Current Mayor Robert McNamara will be running for a trustee position. Under the Liberty Party banner, three-year Trustee Kate Hirsch is running for mayor, with residents Diane Turner, Jay Silverman and Jeffrey Greilsheimer rounding out her slate. 

All three village elections will take place on Wednesday, March 18.

The villages of Sands Point and Manorhaven will see elections in June. 

Sands Point will elect a pair of trustees to two-year terms, one trustee to a one-year term, and a village justice to a four-year term. Manorhaven will elect a mayor and two trustees to two-year terms.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here