Town of Hempstead Republicans won four of five elections on Tuesday, keeping their majority on the Town Board at 6 to 1. 

Republican incumbent Don Clavin won re-election as town supervisor in a contest against Democrat Jason Abelove. Clavin served as the receiver of taxes for the town for nearly two decades before being elected supervisor in 2019. Abelove is an attorney who specializes in employment law and individual rights.

According to the Nassau County Board of Elections, with 100% of precincts counted, Clavin had 93,550 votes to Abelove’s 49,095. The advantage was enough to give Clavin nearly 66% of the vote.

Absentee ballots still need to be counted in full. They can arrive at Nassau County’s Board of Elections in Mineola up to Nov. 9 as long as they are postmarked by Election Day. 

Clavin thanked Joe Cairo, Nassau County Republican chairman, for his efforts during the campaign. 

“I’m honored and humbled to represent the town, and for Joe Cairo, every team has a coach,” Clavin said at the GOP watch party at the Coral House in Baldwin on Tuesday night. “Everybody has someone that drives you, and this is the guy who leads the inspiration for every guy in the room.”

Clavin said providing tax relief to residents, recovering from the coronavirus pandemic and modernizing town government are three issues he wants to focus on.

Hempstead Clerk Kate Murray won her re-election bid against Olena Nicks with 90,071 votes, or 63% to her opponent’s 36%. 

The incumbent has held the post since 2019. She is currently in her second stint as town clerk, a post which she held from 2002 to 2003.  She has also served as town supervisor.

Addressing the audience in Baldwin, Murray asked, “Are you as proud to be a Republican as I am? We’re changing the ways,” which was met with an eruption of cheers by supporters. 

The Hempstead Town Board had three elections alongside the supervisor race. For the town’s 1st, 4th and 6th districts, each incumbent won comfortably.

Democratic Councilwoman Dorothy Goosby defeated Republican James Lamarre in her re-election bid in the 1st First District. Goosby received 10,411 votes, or 88%, in keeping her spot as the council’s lone Democrat. 

Anthony D’Esposito, a Republican incumbent, defeated Democrat Aaron Meyer with 19,247 votes, or 68%, in the 4th District. He was originally appointed to the seat in 2016.

Republican incumbent Dennis Dunne Sr. defeated Democratic challenger Matthew Galante in the 6th District. Dunne received 19,145 votes, or nearly 70%. 


Multiplex Content Recommendation - 1
Brandon Duffy is a New Jersey-based reporter for The Island Now, a position he assumed in July of 2021. He covers news out of Floral Park, New Hyde Park, the Willistons and Mineola, previously reporting on business and elections.