Elections mostly uncontested in Roslyn villages

The Village of Roslyn is one of a number of North Shore villages that had its election canceled due to the coronavirus. (Photo by Teri West)

With one exception, villages in the Roslyn area will see uncontested races in March.

Village of Roslyn Deputy Mayor Marshall Bernstein and Trustee Craig Westergard are unopposed for their seats, a representative from the village clerk’s office said.

Two trustees from Roslyn Estates, Brian Feingold and Stephen Fox, will also be running  unopposed, according to the village’s deputy clerk, as are East Hills Trustees Clara Pomerantz and Emanuel Zuckerman, running for re-election under the Unity Party banner, according to village Attorney Bill Burton. 

In Flower Hill, however, the mayor’s seat and three spots on the Board of Trustees are contested for the first time in several years.

Deputy Mayor Brian Herrington is running for mayor under the Flower Hill Party banner, with incumbent Trustees Randall Rosenbaum and Gary Lewandowski on his slate. Current Mayor Robert McNamara will be running for a trustee position. Under the Liberty Party banner, three-year Trustee Kate Hirsch is running for mayor, with residents Diane Turner, Jay Silverman and Jeffrey Greilsheimer rounding out her slate.

The Village of Old Westbury will vote in June, electing a mayor and two trustees. The Village of North Hills will not be holding elections in 2020 on account of the trustees’ four-year terms.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here