Great Neck North, South High seniors receive annual awards


The Class of 2020 valedictorians and salutatorians for John L. Miller-Great Neck North High School and William A. Shine-Great Neck South High School were featured previously. Other significant graduation awards include the annual Barstow and Scott Moss Awards. A look at these awards, and their recipients, follows.

Barstow Awards

The coveted Frederic Duclos Barstow Award was established in 1962 by Françoise and William Barstow in memory of their only son who died of pneumonia at age 35. The Barstows were prominent Great Neck residents after whom Barstow Road is named. The Barstow Award is given annually to two students at each high school. Recipients of must be in the top 10 percent of their class and be “outstanding in leadership, citizenship, scholarship, and service.” Each recipient receives a monetary prize.

North High School’s valedictorian and salutatorian are traditionally their school’s Barstow Award winners. They are Valedictorian Raymond Lin and Salutatorian Judah Nouriyelian; both were featured previously.

South High’s Barstow Award winners are Daniel Goldberg and Joanna Vissichelli.

Daniel Goldberg was a two-sport varsity athlete as a member of the wrestling and baseball teams. He was also a member of the Mock Trial team, DECA, and he served as a volunteer firefighter. Daniel will attend Cornell University.

Joanna Vissichelli was a three-sport varsity athlete as a member of the girls volleyball, basketball, and softball teams. She was named Captain of the softball team for her junior and senior years. She served as president of the Varsity Club, and she was a member of the Midnight Run Club. Joanna’s college choice is undecided.

Scott Moss Memorial Award

The Scott Moss Award was established in 1977, in memory of Scott, who was an outstanding South High student until his death from cancer. The Award is given to the graduating senior who exemplifies the “service, concern, interest, and ability of Scott Moss.” The recipient of the Scott D. Moss Memorial Award, given at South High School, is Daniel Goldberg.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here