Great Neck Public School District among ‘Best Communities for Music Education’


The Great Neck Public School District has again been named among the “Best Communities for Music Education” by the National Association of Music Merchants Foundation, a coalition of music and educational organizations.

This year marks the twelfth time that Great Neck has received this prestigious award since its inception in 2005. Great Neck joins 583 districts nationwide to receive this recognition.

The Best Communities designation is earned by districts that demonstrate an exceptionally high commitment and access to music education. The award program recognizes outstanding efforts by teachers, administrators, parents, students and community leaders who have made music education part of the curriculum. Selection was based on answers to a survey, in cooperation with researchers at the Music Research Institute at the University of Kansas.

Great Neck’s music faculty include: Fine & Performing Arts Department head Pamela Levy and Joseph Rutkowski at North High; Performing Arts Department head Michael Schwartz, Mark Boschen, Janine Robinson, and Anthony Virgilio at South High; Department head Matthew Trinkwald, Robin Golub, Arielle Murdocco, and Anthony Virgilio at North Middle; Department head Alan Schwartz, Mark Boschen, and Shelley Willcox at South Middle; Anne Fogarty, Cynthia Gorney, Aurora Coman, and Jacquelyn Tomlet at E.M. Baker Elementary; Amy Kempton and Korey Terranova at John F. Kennedy Elementary; Juan Garcia, Robert Pietromonaco, and Jacquelyn Tomlet at Lakeville; Robin Golub at Parkville; and Chad Lasky and Dr. Christopher Wilson at Saddle Rock.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here