Herricks honors 25 Commended Students

The Herricks Board of Education honored Herricks High School seniors who were named Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Pictured are 17 of the 25 students with Principal Joan Keegan (top left), Board President Juleigh Chin (bottom left), Board Vice-President Henry Zanetti (bottom right) and Superintendent of Schools Dr. Fino Celano (top right). (Photo courtesy of Herricks Public Schools )

During the Herricks Public Schools’ regular board of education meeting Oct. 10, the board recognized 25 seniors from Herricks High School who were designated as Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program. The students placed among the top 50,000 of more than 1.5 million students who entered the National Merit Scholarship competition by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT.

Students included Kristen Aloysius, Derek Chen, Ashley Chopra, Mamerto J. Gamboa, Colin Hwang, Xavier Jiang, Greshma John, Jason Jong, Minji Kang, Timothy C. Lai, Jonathan X. Lee, Jonathan K. Leung, Jared R. Martin, Nicholas W. Newsome, Karina Ng, Jocelyn D. Park, Swara Y. Patel, Christopher M. Piccirillo, Kathryn E. Ritchie, Manan Shah, Benjamin Shim, Aditya K. Sunar, Mary Tsahas, Jesse Wang and Kaitlyn R. Yoo.

Before awarding each student with a certificate of achievement, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Fino Celano acknowledged how remarkable it is to have such a high number of students receive this honor.

“It is a wonderful credit to all of our students that are here this evening, your families, your parents, your teachers and your principal, Ms. Keegan,” he said. “Congratulations.”

Submitted by Herricks Public Schools


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here