North Shore students inducted into math honor society

Photo by Shelly Newman

The first annual group of North Shore students were inducted into the Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society on Oct. 25. Mu Alpha Theta is the national high school and two-year college mathematics honor society with over 100,000 student members in more than 2,100 schools. It is dedicated to inspiring keen interest in mathematics, developing strong scholarship in the subject, and promoting the enjoyment of mathematics in high school and two-year college students.

The following North Shore High School students were inducted:

Izzy Lerman, Luke Kenny, Krishna Arya, Gabriella Scott, Giovanna Graziosi, Jenna Cuevo, Lauren Belanger, Haley Waiknis, Ryan Wezwick, Adriana Ralidis-Sanchez, Lucia Martin, Caroline Baptista, Sophia Kraupner, Sofia Perez, Sophie Blumenthal, Suhana Singh, Maddy DePietro, Bridget Lewis, Dylan Hoell, Derrick Korponay, Patrick Sullivan, Matt Saltzman, Oliver Palone, Olivia Schatz, Cristina D’Amico, Chloe Johnson, Wenni Fan, Jane Sturge, Adrian Ortiz, Patrick Witek, Alyssa Hartman, Esme Reilly, Kyra McCreery, Thomas Burteind, Zain Pastula, Miranda Kianka, John Labbate, Jennifer Walton, Sophia Fleming, Sarah Moughal, Richie Sun, Noelle Pappas, Sam Rosencrans, Christina Forsander, Sara Rush, Mckenzie Johanson, Nate Loring, Camille Giertl, Alexa Grayson, Kira Potapov, Madelaine Rojas, Grace Long, Stephen Grabher, Carolyn Doyle, Annette Pietraru, Keaton Danseglio, Julia Vineis, Claudia Scala, Jia Wei Hao, Jade Diaz, Dhruv Gondhi, Scott Lenny, Kate Wesley-Jones, Kayla Sorenson, Christine Ramirez, Carson Paradis, Emma Morley, Lou Scerrone, Madelyn Rivera, Meaghan Hoffman, Andrea Liotta, Andrew Gerard, Joseph Franco, Sam Scordo and Irene Zachariadis.

Members of the Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society include high school students in grades 9 through 12. They have completed the equivalent of two years of college preparatory mathematics, which includes algebra and/or geometry. In addition, they have completed or are enrolled in a more advanced course. Students are eligible for membership in the honor society if they earned at least a 90 grade point average in the previous year’s math class.

Teacher Charles Wankel and math department leader Nicole Masiello orchestrated the ceremony.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here