Local students making college news


New York Institute of Technology

The following students were named to the fall 2018 Presidential Honor List:

Kinza Ahmed, Rehel Ahmed, Akash Mathew, Shivesh Patel and Shebin Tharakan of Albertson.

Christopher Almeida, Sandeep Basandrai, Ricky Bergman, Vitor Cavalcante, Brianna Hefele, Marissa Karasz, Amanda Poppe and Malwina Zaslonka of Mineola.

Ian Kelly, Gina Koros, Jasmine Mathew, Jobin Mathew, Emily O’Connell and Craig Weber of Williston Park.

Muntaha Ahmad, Nicholas Kern and Jared Smith of Roslyn.

Ivana Andric, Ilaha Jalilova, Antonella Lopez Alcerro, Mariam Naghavi, Martin Sundell and Manal Syeda of Old Westbury.

Wassam Qayyum of Manhasset.

Irma Bonilla, Antonina Bullaro, Jose Melgar and Gabriela Othman of Port Washington.

David Erfanian, Jillian Marden, William Miecuna and Celine Shamash of Great Neck.

Michael Carrotta, Michael Gao, Shaheryar Gill, Melina Hamaoui, Asiya Hassan, John Hayes, Brian Hoerter, Jency Mathew, Milap Patel, Adarsh Pillay, Alex Raju, Rhea Rene, Zain Satti, Nivetha Shanmugarajah, Steven Thomas, Melissa Treister and Abel Zachariah of New Hyde Park.

Dimitar Kalinkov of Garden City Park.

The following students were named to the Fall 2018 Dean’s Honor List.

Patrick Ekladios of Albertson, Samantha Mazzilli of Williston Park, and Jinal Patel, Hao Teng and Janelle Zapiti of Mineola.

Roxane Ghadami, Najma Khan, Avital Kohan-Anu, Matthew Li and Rekik Wolde of Roslyn Heights.

Arda Kalem and Arthur Li of Old Westbury.

Merav Ben-Josef, Aidan Hakimian, Laiba Khan, Joosung Kim, Chelsea Livian and Ryan Rahmanan of Great Neck.

Swapnil Barot, Arjun Bulsara, Stan Jacob, Jeffrey John, Jenson John, Chris Joseph, Melanie Lackraj, Yi Zen Looi, Daniel Matthew, Louie Patrizi, Kristopher Singh, Anisha Singla, Kafeel Syed and Sharon Thomas of New Hyde Park.

Northeast Ohio Medical University

As they opened their envelopes during National Match Day on March 15, fourth-year College of Medicine students at Northeast Ohio Medical University learned where they will continue their medical training as resident physicians following graduation in May.

Christopher Dijanic of New Hyde Park learned he will be heading to Monmouth Medical Center in Long Branch, NJ for a residency in orthopaedic surgery.

New York National Guard

Andrew McNulty from Manhasset, serving with the 88th Area Command, received a promotion to the rank of 2nd lieutenant during a recent unit training event.

Specialist Harold Bruno from Port Washington reenlisted to continue service with the Company D, 1-69th Infantry.

Safwan Khan from New Hyde Park, assigned to the 442nd Military Police Company, received a promotion to the rank of specialist.

The University of Vermont

The following students helped the University of Vermont’s annual student-led fundraising event RALLYTHON raise a record-breaking $117,520.29 for the UVM Children’s Hospital: Kaila Carson of Albertson and Jamison Tuch of Port Washington.

Columbus State Community College

Bradley Fritzhand of Great Neck was named to the Dean’s List. To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and be enrolled for six or more credit hours.

Wilkes University

Sarah Weynand of Albertson is performing in the theatre production of “The Dining Room.” The performances will take place on April 4, 5 and 6 at 8 p.m., with matinee performances on April 6 and 7 at 2 p.m. The production is at Wilkes University’s Dorothy Dickson Darte Center for the Performing Arts, 239 S. River St., Wilkes-Barre, Pa. Weynand is playing various roles such as agent and Peggy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here